The Instant Cottage

This Spring was drier and warmer than most and I soon found myself armpit deep in meadow grass and chin deep in yard chores. I did find time however, for a quick project that brought a charming cottage feeling to my little home.

Just a little bit of charm

Just a little bit of charm

By adding this little architectural interest in the door ways of my laundry room I was able to take a bland, boring opening to a charming archway. Which is a good thing since there’s no hiding those laundry machines.

the view from the kitchen/dinning room

the view from the kitchen/dinning room

This was an easy project that took two nights to finish but only because I had to let paint dry. I found my brackets at the ReStore but most hardware stores will have something similar. They came primed so I just slapped on a coat of trim paint. I needed to modify the brackets for the first doorway as it is narrower than standard.  A classic symptom of old houses.

working the details

working the details

Installation was a dream. With pre-drilled holes I just tapped in some finishing nails and presto! Charming, cottage architectural interest.

cottage accent closeup SM

the view into the mud room

(Don’t mind the knotty pine mud room in the distance. It’s a project waiting to happen.) I love to see the archway from across the room. It’s just so dang cute!

How’s your summer going? Any big projects getting done?

Cheers,

Miss Ellie

Leave a Reply

