New TV Stand from Old

This winter was the year for new electronics. I say that because being a resourceful gal I take second-hand goods, TVs, Computers, VCRs, and appliances, and make them work for my family. This year my house earned me an energy rebate so I decided it was time for a flat screen TV. I needed the TV to take up less room and be compatible with the electronics my family was tiring to plug into it. But it also meant the current TV arrangement was not going to work.

I spent a couple of months looking for just the right TV stand. And then I found the best one ever at the Restore. But it needed a lot of love.

It’s mahogany veneer on most of it. But I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it so I just started sanding. You’ll remember the post about getting a paint brush back in my hand. Well, I decided to paint it orange. Yup! Orange. It’s a beautiful soft shade of pumpkin.

I glazed the lower half with chocolate and finished the top with a dark oak stain and hand rubbed poly. And gave the hardware a good cleaning too.

The TV fits perfectly. And with the addition of wall decor above the TV it almost doesn’t look like a big black box.

Dinner and a movie has taken on a whole new meaning in our house.

Next up? The coffee table.

While photo shooting this piece I sat on the table and one leg gave way and I went crashing to the floor. So, furniture Repair and Re-finishing are my next adventure. Stay tune for the details.

Cheers!

Miss Ellie

I’m linking this post to Courtney’s Feathered Nest Friday over at French Country Cottage.

I’m linking this post to Donna’s Saturday Nite Special over at Funky Junk Interiors.

I’m liking this post to Marian’s Furniture Feature Friday over at Miss Mustard Seed.  

I’m linking this post to Casie’s POWW107 over at Primitive & Proper.

6 thoughts on “New TV Stand from Old

Leave a Reply

