Finding Vintage Treasures

Garage Sales

Over the last few weekends I’ve been able to sneak out early on a Saturday morning and visit some flea markets and garage sales. The Pickers were there too. Wow are they determined. Ladies and gentlemen running, yes running when the gates opened. I chose to take a more leisurely approach to the whole thing. If it was there when I and my cup of coffee got there, then it was mine.

I look for things that not many pickers are interested in. I have the sense they want things they can brush off, add a price tag to and sell in their shops. I want things that need love, a little TLC (or a lot) and a new life. I ask for broken furniture and things that are headed for the dump. But sometimes, I show up on a day that rain has been predicted or its hot and I beat the pickers at their own game; and score. And I mean SCORE!

This is Edward. Edward Underwood. You might have met him in my last post.

He was sitting on a dresser waiting for me to notice him at a moving sale. I walked right by him, trying to be all casual and looked at a chair, talked to the seller, picked out a few smalls to go with the chair and inquired about a price for the whole lot. It was satisfactory. So I asked the seller to include the typewriter. And…well… screaming deal of the century (remember ‘Moving Sale’). So for the price of a good meal without libations, Edward Underwood and I went home together! Happy ending.

I can often get to the local Habitat for Humanity’s Restore on my lunch break. Sometimes I find good hardware and old tools for future projects and sometimes I score. Last week I scored!

Such simplicity, and within budget. With a bright seat cushion this will be a welcome addition to the office.

And this poor little red-headed stepchild was just waiting for some love.

So I brought her home too! And then there was the most creative find of all. I just know I can do something wonderful with these.

I call these mirror harps. They are whats left of an old mirror attachment on a wash stand. I love the wood decals.

Treasure hunting has become an art form for me. My instincts tell my when to shop but my vision tells me when to buy. I do have to listen when I talk to myself to find success. But I enjoy being out and finding treasures.

Do you enjoy the hunt? Are you a picker or an artist?

Stay tune for ‘Small Kitchen Reveal’ or get it in your inbox by signing up for email posts.

              Cheers!

              Miss Ellie

6 thoughts on “Finding Vintage Treasures

  1. OK, you must tell me where you shop so I can beat you to these sales:-) Edward is awesome and what a deal you made. I have one of those mirror harps buried in my garage somewhere. Not as ornate as yours, but thanks for the reminder. Great treasures!!

    • Thanks Betsy.
      I think the mirror harp, strung with wire, could display pictures with little clips. Or small chain and hang earrings on it. Thanks for stopping by.
      Miss Ellie

    • Hi Cassie,
      Thanks for stopping by. The chair reminded me of one I saw in Pottery Barn. And yes, family does need to come first. Hence my ‘sneaking out’ early on Saturday morning. They are all still sleeping.
      Cheers,
      Miss Ellie

  2. Hi Ellie,
    I have been looking for a “mirror harp” for ages!!!
    I am going to mount another piece of wood on the base, paint it, turn it upside down so that the base is now a shelf, mount it on the wall around an oval or round mirror.
    I saw one done over a bathroom vanity and it looked beautiful.
    P.S. love your blog

Leave a Reply

